RSS

Bloom Me Away

30 Aug

Artist Garden

Ask any gardener and they will tell you that to create a garden from scratch is a labour of love. What you see in the pictures is only a five-year old garden that I designed and planted for low maintenance.

Cutting lawns is definitely not my style. Instead I use rocks and planter boxes with gravel walkways. This was a lot of work in the beginning and I even got a very large callous on the bottom of my foot which required surgical removal. Ouch!

I sifted the existing dirt on the property and changed the acid content to a more alkaline one using organic materials including the composted weeds growing on the property already. I continue to do this. But  I can also use the composted material from the garden once it turns to soil . Two years give me an entire planter box full of rich loom.

The garden area transformed into a lush garden that birds and bees feel welcome in. The rocks in the ground are all used in the design. I am less than 400 ft. up from the creek and this ground rock reflects that. Work of designing a garden using rocks inspired a hidden rock hounding instinct.

I think planting a garden is similar to painting a painting. it is important to plan the design to some degree and allow nature to do its part. The tightly woven garden using perennials of somewhat equal strength is my preferred style. But, at first, I planted whatever I had available.Some people gave me flowers from their garden.

Generally, the core of this garden derived from my last garden with plants I took with me in planters. These were flowers that were widespread and plentiful and required thinning. So there is a relationship between all the gardens I planted. The raspberries, rose buses, iris, peony and all the perennial herbs to mention some and I even brought an apple tree I grew from seed.

Since this garden exists in a high desert area of Canada, I am still learning what works. Most gardens look best at one particular time of the year. Most of the time, I plant an early summer garden, with something of a late spring bloom.. However this garden is more of a late summer early fall garden. It may have to do with the difference in climate because I am more familiar with a temperate rainforest environment. Whatever the case, it is a pleasant experience to see the outcome of so much work.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2012 in beauty, birds, flowers, nature, painting

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Bloom Me Away

  1. gopinet.org

    May 16, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable knowledge about unexpected emotions.

     
    • myartshow

      June 15, 2013 at 8:20 pm

      I apologize for my tardy response with regard to your comment on “Bloom Me Away”

       
  2. website marketing tools

    July 21, 2013 at 7:18 am

    hey there and thank you for your information
    – I have definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical issues using
    this site, since I experienced to reload the web site lots of
    times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your web host is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in
    google and can damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing
    with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can
    look out for a lot more of your respective interesting
    content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
